top of page

Shared Gallery

Creating and Managing Albums in the Shared Gallery App

With the Shared Gallery app, you can start sharing your photos and videos by uploading them to your gallery.

Creating albums lets you organize your media into themed folders with album names, descriptions, and cover photos. You and any site visitor with permissions can upload media and manage your albums.

Important:

By default, all your site members can upload media and only admins can manage albums. You can change these permissions on the app's Settings panel in your Editor. Learn how

A screenshot showing a shared gallery.

In this article, learn more about:

Creating an album

You and any site visitor with Manage Gallery permissions can create new albums on your live site.

Important:

  • When you create your first album, another album with the same name as your site is also created. All of the photos and videos that you previously uploaded are automatically moved to this folder.

  • Your gallery's main page will also display only albums instead of individual photos and videos.

  • To return to displaying individual photos and videos, you need to delete your albums.

To create an album:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click Create Album.

A screenshot showing the option to create a new album.

Adding photos and videos to an album

You and any site visitor with Upload Photos permissions can add photos and videos to your albums on your live site. You can also add photos and videos from the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

Important:

  • After you add your first album, you can only add photos and videos to albums. You won't be able to add individual photos or videos to your main gallery page.

  • If you want to add individual photos or videos, you need to delete your albums.

To add photos and videos:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Select the album that you want to add photos or videos to.

  3. Click Add Media.

A screenshot showing the option to add media to your shared gallery.

  1. Select photo or video file(s) from your computer.

  2. Click Open.

Tip:

Click the More Actions icon  on a photo or video to see options to download, move, share, or delete it.

Moving photos or videos between albums

You can move photos and videos between albums on your live site. Your site visitors can also move any media that they add. You can also move photos and videos in the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

To move photos and videos:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Select the album with the photo or video that you want to move.

  3. Click the checkbox next to the item(s) you want to move. Note: Click the checkbox at the top of the list if you want to move all the items.

  4. Select Move item.

A screenshot showing the option to move and item

Editing an album

You and any site visitor with Manage Gallery permissions can edit the name, description, and cover image of your album on your live site. You can also edit albums from the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

To edit an album:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the More Actions icon next to the relevant album.

  3. Select Edit album.

A screenshot showing the option to edit an album in your gallery.

  1. Edit the name, description, or cover image of your album. Note: Your cover image must be a .png or .jpg file and can be up to 25mb.

  2. Click Save.

Deleting an album

You and any site visitor with Manage Gallery permissions can delete albums that are not needed anymore on your live site. You can also delete albums from the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

Important:

  • Deleting an album permanently removes all the photos and videos in the album. It's not possible to recover an album after you delete it.

  • When you delete all of the albums that you created, your gallery reverts to showing individual photos and videos.

To delete an album:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the More Actions icon .

  3. Select Delete album.

A screenshot showing the option to delete an album.

  1. Click Delete.

Need A Professional Website?
Contact Us 
Today!

Wix Bookings: The Essential Checklist for Professional Bookings Site Owners

Wix Bookings: About Wix Bookings

Resolving Email Issues

Changing the Priority of Your MX Records

Connecting Email Purchased Outside of Wix

Google Workspace: Adding a DKIM Record to your Business Email

Google Workspace: Adding an SPF Record to your Business Email

Adding a DKIM (TXT) Record

Adding or Updating SPF Records in Your Wix Account

Business Email: General Troubleshooting

Connecting Email Accounts from Different Email Providers for the Same Domain

Increasing Email Deliverability of Emails Sent from Your Business Email

Top Reasons for Using a Personalized Business Email

Business Email: An Overview

Activating DNSSEC for a Wix Domain

Transferring Your Wix Domain Away from Wix

ICANN: Confirming Your Domain Contact Information

Connecting a Subdomain to Your Wix Site

Connecting a Wix Domain to an External Site

Transferring Your Wix Domain to a Different Wix Account

Activating Private Registration for a Wix Domain

Checking if a Domain Name is Available

List of Available Domain Extensions

Connecting a Domain Purchased from Wix

Purchasing a Domain vs. Purchasing a Site Plan

Purchasing a Domain from Wix

Connecting a Domain You Own to Your Wix Site

Accessing Your Domains Page

Finding Your Domain Registrar Details

Exporting or Embedding Your Wix Site Elsewhere

wix experts
Graphic2Traffic web design
©
bottom of page