top of page

Shared Gallery

Creating and Managing Albums in the Shared Gallery App

With the Shared Gallery app, you can start sharing your photos and videos by uploading them to your gallery.

Creating albums lets you organize your media into themed folders with album names, descriptions, and cover photos. You and any site visitor with permissions can upload media and manage your albums.

Important:

By default, all your site members can upload media and only admins can manage albums. You can change these permissions on the app's Settings panel in your Editor. Learn how

A screenshot showing a shared gallery.

In this article, learn more about:

Creating an album

You and any site visitor with Manage Gallery permissions can create new albums on your live site.

Important:

  • When you create your first album, another album with the same name as your site is also created. All of the photos and videos that you previously uploaded are automatically moved to this folder.

  • Your gallery's main page will also display only albums instead of individual photos and videos.

  • To return to displaying individual photos and videos, you need to delete your albums.

To create an album:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click Create Album.

A screenshot showing the option to create a new album.

Adding photos and videos to an album

You and any site visitor with Upload Photos permissions can add photos and videos to your albums on your live site. You can also add photos and videos from the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

Important:

  • After you add your first album, you can only add photos and videos to albums. You won't be able to add individual photos or videos to your main gallery page.

  • If you want to add individual photos or videos, you need to delete your albums.

To add photos and videos:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Select the album that you want to add photos or videos to.

  3. Click Add Media.

A screenshot showing the option to add media to your shared gallery.

  1. Select photo or video file(s) from your computer.

  2. Click Open.

Tip:

Click the More Actions icon  on a photo or video to see options to download, move, share, or delete it.

Moving photos or videos between albums

You can move photos and videos between albums on your live site. Your site visitors can also move any media that they add. You can also move photos and videos in the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

To move photos and videos:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Select the album with the photo or video that you want to move.

  3. Click the checkbox next to the item(s) you want to move. Note: Click the checkbox at the top of the list if you want to move all the items.

  4. Select Move item.

A screenshot showing the option to move and item

Editing an album

You and any site visitor with Manage Gallery permissions can edit the name, description, and cover image of your album on your live site. You can also edit albums from the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

To edit an album:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the More Actions icon next to the relevant album.

  3. Select Edit album.

A screenshot showing the option to edit an album in your gallery.

  1. Edit the name, description, or cover image of your album. Note: Your cover image must be a .png or .jpg file and can be up to 25mb.

  2. Click Save.

Deleting an album

You and any site visitor with Manage Gallery permissions can delete albums that are not needed anymore on your live site. You can also delete albums from the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

Important:

  • Deleting an album permanently removes all the photos and videos in the album. It's not possible to recover an album after you delete it.

  • When you delete all of the albums that you created, your gallery reverts to showing individual photos and videos.

To delete an album:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the More Actions icon .

  3. Select Delete album.

A screenshot showing the option to delete an album.

  1. Click Delete.

Need A Professional Website?
Contact Us 
Today!

Online Programs: Connecting a Group to Your Program in the Wix App

Online Programs: Managing Your Notification Settings in the Wix App

Online Programs: Managing Your Program in the Wix App

Online Programs: Managing the Participants of Your Program in the Wix App

Online Programs: Sending Notifications to Participants

Online Programs: Showing or Hiding the Number of Program Participants

Online Programs: Creating a Group for Your Program

Online Programs: Managing Your Program Participants

Online Programs: Customizing Your Program Pages

Online Programs: Adding a Members Area

Online Programs: Reordering and Hiding Your Programs from the Program List

Online Programs: Adding a Video Step to a Program

Online Programs: Deleting the Online Programs App

Online Programs: Automatically Sending an Invoice When a Program Is Purchased

Online Programs: Creating a Certificate for Your Program

Online Programs: Importing a Step from an Existing Program

Online Programs: Upgrading Your Site

Online Programs: Adding and Managing Program Collaborators

Online Programs: Managing Coupons

Online Programs: Previewing Your Program

Online Programs: Adding Quizzes and Surveys Throughout Your Program

Online Programs: Creating and Managing Online Program Categories

Online Programs: Embedding Interactive Content in an Article or Section

Online Programs: Managing Your Step Order and Visibility for Your Programs

Online Programs: General Troubleshooting

Online Programs: Connecting a Pricing Plan to Your Program

Online Programs: About Automations for Your Program

Online Programs: Managing a Quiz

Online Programs: Removing a Program

Wix Online Programs: Translating Your Online Programs

wix experts
Graphic2Traffic web design
©
bottom of page