top of page

Managing purchased plans

Pricing Plans: Temporarily Suspending a Plan

If the services you offer are temporarily unavailable, you can pause a client's benefits and payments. For example, if your gym is closed because of flooding, you can pause your plans until you are able to reopen. Clients won't have access to gym services for that period, and charges are suspended.

A screenshot of a subscription  overview in a site's dashboard. of a

In this article, learn more about:

Important:

Make sure to suspend pricing plans in the Wix dashboard, following the instructions below. Suspending subscription plans in the dashboard of your payment provider does not suspend clients' access to plan benefits and may cause issues later.

Suspending a membership plan or package

You can suspend a plan whenever you or your client require. This is useful if a client cannot use their plan temporarily through injury, travel or other reasons.

Important:

  • Suspending a plan automatically suspends access to any services you connected to the plan. This may include Wix Bookings services as well as access to Members-Only pages, blogs or forum posts. If your plan offers benefits not managed in your Wix dashboard, you may need to take action to stop access to those benefits.

  • You cannot suspend plans sold with Stripe before September 19, 2019.

To suspend a membership plan or package:

  1. Go to Subscriptions in your site's dashboard.

  2. Select the purchased plan you want to suspend.

  3. Click the Manage Subscription drop-down.

  4. Click Suspend Subscription.

  5. Click Yes, Suspend to verify.

  6. (Optional) Repeat steps 1 - 5 for other clients.

Screenshot showing how to suspend a pricing plan in the dashboard.

Reactivating a suspended plan

You can reactivate a suspended plan at any time. Your client regains access to the subscription and all associated benefits and you start collecting upcoming payments again.

To reactivate a suspended plan:

  1. Go to Subscriptions in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the suspended plan you want to reactivate.

  3. Click the Manage Subscription drop-down.

  4. Click Reactivate Subscription.

  5. Click Yes, Reactivate.

A screenshot of the subscriptions page to reactivate a subscription.

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

Below are some frequently asked questions about suspending and reactivating plans:

Can I suspend a client’s subscription after modifying their payment date?

As an owner, if you change a client’s payment date, it won't be possible to suspend the clients subscription.

Can I suspend a plan that hasn't started yet?

You cannot suspend plans with future start dates. You can cancel the plan instead.

What happens when I suspend different pricing plans?

When you suspend a plan, you pause access to all benefits and no longer collect additional payments until you reactivate the plan. See below for information on what happens when you suspend different types of plans.

  • Recurring payment plans: Access to all benefits is paused. Upcoming payments are not collected. The plan end date is extended for the time the plan was suspended. 

    For example, a client pays $50 monthly for a plan that lasts a year. The plan was purchased January 1 and ends December 31. On March 1, you suspend the plan. You reactivate the plan on May 1. Between March 1 and May 1 your client does not have access to services. The March and April monthly payments are not collected. Payments are collected starting May 1. Since the plan was suspended for 2 months, the plan now ends at the end of February instead of the end of December.

  • One-Time Payment plans: Access to all benefits is paused. The plan end date is automatically extended, based on the time the plan was suspended.

  • Free plans: Access to all benefits is paused. The plan end date is automatically extended, based on the time the plan was suspended.

  • Plans with a free trial period: Payments that were supposed to start at the end of the trial are not collected and access to all benefits is paused. The plan end date is automatically extended, based on the time the plan was suspended.

What happens when I reactivate a suspended plan?

When you reactivate a plan:

  • Clients regain access to services.

  • The duration of the client's plan extends. For instance, if a plan was supposed to end August 1, but was suspended for a month, it will end September 1.

  • Recurring payments reactivate. For example, if before the suspension there was a week left before the next payment, then after reactivation, there is also a week left before the next payment.

  • Packages restart from where they were. For example, if a client had 3 sessions remaining and 2 weeks left before their next payment, that's what they'll have when you reactivate.

Need A Professional Website?
Contact Us 
Today!

Google Workspace Error Message: "Your subscription has been suspended by your reseller"

Google Workspace Error Message: Service Is Temporarily Suspended until Your Customer Accepts the New Terms of Service

Google Workspace Error Message: "You already have a Google Workspace business email account. You can manage it from the Google Admin Console"

Google Workspace: Data Migration from an External Email to Your Google Workspace

Google Workspace: Revoking Admin Status to Delete a Workspace Account

Google Workspace: Connecting Your Business Email to a Mail Client Using IMAP and SMTP

Google Workspace: Changing the Language of Your Business Email

Google Workspace: Emails Missing from Your Business Email

Google Workspace: Allowing Access for ‘Less Secure Apps’ in Your Business Email

Google Workspace: Adding Google Workspace MX Records to Your Wix Account

Google Workspace: Setting Up a Domain Alias

Google Workspace: Manually Verifying Your Domain with Google

Google Workspace: Connecting a Business Email for a Domain Pointing to Wix

Google Workspace: Setting Up an Email Alias for an Existing Workspace User Email Address

Google Workspace: Resetting a Workspace User's Password

Google Workspace: Renaming a Workspace User

Google Workspace: Accessing Your Additional Workspace Users

Google Workspace: Purchasing Additional Business Emails from Wix

Google Workspace: Setting Up Business Email Users

Gemini for Google Workspace: An Overview

Google Workspace: Upgrading a Workspace Plan

Google Workspace: Choosing a Plan

Google Workspace: Business Email Sending Limits

Google Workspace: Forwarding Emails From Your Business Email to Another Email Address

Google Workspace: Resetting Your Admin Password

Google Workspace: Accessing Your Admin Console

Google Workspace: Identifying Your Admin Workspace User

Google Workspace: Setting Up Your Business Email on Mobile Devices

Google Workspace: Username and Password Guidelines

Google Workspace: Accessing your Business Email Through Your Wix Account

wix experts
Graphic2Traffic web design
©
bottom of page