top of page

Managing purchased plans

Pricing Plans: Canceling Client Plans

Important:

The article below discusses the Wix subscriptions app Pricing Plans. If you're looking for information about upgrading your site, visit our articles for choosing a Wix Premium or Wix Studio site plan.

With Pricing Plans, you can cancel a client's plan or allow them to cancel on their own. Additionally, if you do not receive payment from your client's payment provider, their plan can become canceled. You can check the status of your clients' plans from the Subscriptions tab of your dashboard.

In this article, learn more about:

Before you begin:

  • Canceling a plan does not refund it. You must contact your payment provider to issue a refund.

  • Failed payments automatically cancel a customer's plan. However, you can enable a grace period for your recurring subscriptions to give customers more time to resubmit payment before their subscription cancels.

Canceling a client's plan yourself

To cancel a client's plan yourself, you need to change the plan's status in your site's dashboard. You can choose when the cancellation happens – immediately, or at the end of the current payment cycle.

When canceling free and one-time payment plans, it takes effect immediately. For example, if you cancel a monthly plan after 2 weeks use, the client does not have access to services/content for the last 2 weeks of the month.

To cancel a client's plan:

  1. Go to Subscriptions in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the relevant plan.

  3. Click Manage Subscription.

  4. Select Cancel Subscription.

  5. Select when the cancellation takes effect:Cancel at end of this billing period: Plan continues until end of current payment cycle (for example, until the end of the month for a monthly plan). The plan does not renew.
    Cancel immediately: Client's access to services stops immediately.

  6. Click Yes, Cancel.

Important:

Canceling a plan does not refund it. You must contact your payment provider to issue a refund.

An animated gif showing how to cancel a subscription.

Tip:

You can undo cancelations for plans with the "Pending cancelation" status. If you undo the cancelation, the status of the plan returns to "Active".

Allowing clients to cancel plans

You can allow clients to cancel a plan themselves through their private Members Area on your site.

An animated gif showing how clients can cancel their own plans.

Before you begin:

To allow clients to cancel a plan themselves:

  1. Go to Pricing Plans in your site's dashboard.

  2. Create a new plan or click to edit an existing one.

  3. Scroll down to Settings.

  4. Enable the Allow Plan Cancellation toggle.

  5. Click Save to save the plan.

  6. Repeat steps 3 - 5 for any other plans for which you want to enable cancellation.

Plans canceled through payment providers

Failed payments automatically cancel a customer's plan. This can happen when a credit card is canceled or has insufficient funds.

Additionally, clients may cancel payment directly through their payment providers:

  • PayPal: Clients may cancel recurring payments in their PayPal dashboard.

  • Credit Card: Clients may cancel their plan directly with their credit card company.

Viewing a plan's status

If you or your client cancels a plan, their plan's status updates to show that it's canceled or pending cancelation in the Subscriptions tab in your dashboard.

A screenshot showing different pricing plan statuses.

Plans can display any of the following statuses:

  • Active: The plan can be used by the client.

  • Expired: The plan has ended.

  • Canceled: The plan was canceled and cannot be used by the client.

  • Pending Cancelation: The plan can be used by the client until the end of the billing period they paid for and then will change to "Canceled" status. 
    Note: You can undo cancellations for plans with the "Pending cancelation" status. If you undo the cancelation, the status of the plan returns to "Active".

  • Free Trial: The recurring plan has a free trial and is in its free trial period.

  • Pending: The plan has a future start date and is not yet active.

  • Suspended: The plan has been temporarily suspended.

FAQs

Here are some frequently asked questions about canceling clients' plans:

What happens if I delete a site member?

Deleting a site member cancels their pricing plan automatically.

What happens if I delete, transfer or duplicate my site?

Deleting your site cancels all subscriptions.

Transferring or duplicating your site doesn't cancel existing subscriptions on the original site. You must cancel original plans and create new ones for your clients to purchase on any duplicated and transferred sites.

What happens after a client's plan is canceled?

This depends on the type of plan that was canceled:

  • Free / one-time payment: Access to services and content stops immediately. For example, if you cancel a monthly plan after 2 weeks, the client would not have access to services/content for the last 2 weeks of the month.

  • Recurring: After a client cancels a recurring plan, the plan's status is changed to “pending cancellation” until the end of the billing period the client paid for. 

    When you cancel a recurring payment, the purchased plan and payment does not continue for the next cycle. For example, if you cancel a monthly plan in the middle of January, the plan continues until the end of January, but does not recur in the following months. During January, in this example, the Plan Status will be "Pending Cancellation".

Can I offer refunds for canceled plans?

Note: Refunding a plan does not cancel it, you can cancel a plan in Subscriptions in your site dashboard.

Contact your payment provider to offer refunds for canceled plans (e.g. PayPal, Stripe, etc.).

Can I allow clients to cancel only specific plans?

You can allow clients to cancel plans themselves in the settings section of each plan. This means you can allow clients to cancel some plans themselves, but not others, depending on your needs.

Can I undo plan cancelations?

After a client cancels a recurring plan, the plan's status is changed to “pending cancelation” until the end of the billing period the client paid for.

You can undo cancelations for plans with the "Pending cancelation" status in Subscriptions in your site dashboard. If you undo the cancelation, the status of the plan returns to "Active".

Need A Professional Website?
Contact Us 
Today!

Google Workspace Error Message: "Your subscription has been suspended by your reseller"

Google Workspace Error Message: Service Is Temporarily Suspended until Your Customer Accepts the New Terms of Service

Google Workspace Error Message: "You already have a Google Workspace business email account. You can manage it from the Google Admin Console"

Google Workspace: Data Migration from an External Email to Your Google Workspace

Google Workspace: Revoking Admin Status to Delete a Workspace Account

Google Workspace: Connecting Your Business Email to a Mail Client Using IMAP and SMTP

Google Workspace: Changing the Language of Your Business Email

Google Workspace: Emails Missing from Your Business Email

Google Workspace: Allowing Access for ‘Less Secure Apps’ in Your Business Email

Google Workspace: Adding Google Workspace MX Records to Your Wix Account

Google Workspace: Setting Up a Domain Alias

Google Workspace: Manually Verifying Your Domain with Google

Google Workspace: Connecting a Business Email for a Domain Pointing to Wix

Google Workspace: Setting Up an Email Alias for an Existing Workspace User Email Address

Google Workspace: Resetting a Workspace User's Password

Google Workspace: Renaming a Workspace User

Google Workspace: Accessing Your Additional Workspace Users

Google Workspace: Purchasing Additional Business Emails from Wix

Google Workspace: Setting Up Business Email Users

Gemini for Google Workspace: An Overview

Google Workspace: Upgrading a Workspace Plan

Google Workspace: Choosing a Plan

Google Workspace: Business Email Sending Limits

Google Workspace: Forwarding Emails From Your Business Email to Another Email Address

Google Workspace: Resetting Your Admin Password

Google Workspace: Accessing Your Admin Console

Google Workspace: Identifying Your Admin Workspace User

Google Workspace: Setting Up Your Business Email on Mobile Devices

Google Workspace: Username and Password Guidelines

Google Workspace: Accessing your Business Email Through Your Wix Account

wix experts
Graphic2Traffic web design
©
bottom of page