top of page

Shared Gallery

Creating and Managing Albums in the Shared Gallery App

With the Shared Gallery app, you can start sharing your photos and videos by uploading them to your gallery.

Creating albums lets you organize your media into themed folders with album names, descriptions, and cover photos. You and any site visitor with permissions can upload media and manage your albums.

Important:

By default, all your site members can upload media and only admins can manage albums. You can change these permissions on the app's Settings panel in your Editor. Learn how

A screenshot showing a shared gallery.

In this article, learn more about:

Creating an album

You and any site visitor with Manage Gallery permissions can create new albums on your live site.

Important:

  • When you create your first album, another album with the same name as your site is also created. All of the photos and videos that you previously uploaded are automatically moved to this folder.

  • Your gallery's main page will also display only albums instead of individual photos and videos.

  • To return to displaying individual photos and videos, you need to delete your albums.

To create an album:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click Create Album.

A screenshot showing the option to create a new album.

Adding photos and videos to an album

You and any site visitor with Upload Photos permissions can add photos and videos to your albums on your live site. You can also add photos and videos from the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

Important:

  • After you add your first album, you can only add photos and videos to albums. You won't be able to add individual photos or videos to your main gallery page.

  • If you want to add individual photos or videos, you need to delete your albums.

To add photos and videos:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Select the album that you want to add photos or videos to.

  3. Click Add Media.

A screenshot showing the option to add media to your shared gallery.

  1. Select photo or video file(s) from your computer.

  2. Click Open.

Tip:

Click the More Actions icon  on a photo or video to see options to download, move, share, or delete it.

Moving photos or videos between albums

You can move photos and videos between albums on your live site. Your site visitors can also move any media that they add. You can also move photos and videos in the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

To move photos and videos:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Select the album with the photo or video that you want to move.

  3. Click the checkbox next to the item(s) you want to move. Note: Click the checkbox at the top of the list if you want to move all the items.

  4. Select Move item.

A screenshot showing the option to move and item

Editing an album

You and any site visitor with Manage Gallery permissions can edit the name, description, and cover image of your album on your live site. You can also edit albums from the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

To edit an album:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the More Actions icon next to the relevant album.

  3. Select Edit album.

A screenshot showing the option to edit an album in your gallery.

  1. Edit the name, description, or cover image of your album. Note: Your cover image must be a .png or .jpg file and can be up to 25mb.

  2. Click Save.

Deleting an album

You and any site visitor with Manage Gallery permissions can delete albums that are not needed anymore on your live site. You can also delete albums from the Shared Gallery section of your site's dashboard.

Important:

  • Deleting an album permanently removes all the photos and videos in the album. It's not possible to recover an album after you delete it.

  • When you delete all of the albums that you created, your gallery reverts to showing individual photos and videos.

To delete an album:

Dashboard

Live Site

  1. Go to Shared Gallery in your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the More Actions icon .

  3. Select Delete album.

A screenshot showing the option to delete an album.

  1. Click Delete.

Need A Professional Website?
Contact Us 
Today!

Third-Party Apps: Marketing Apps

Third Party App: Gifted by Gifted

Third-Party App: Melhor Envio by Melhor Envio

Third-Party App: Etsy Integration by Webkul

Third-Party App: Product Auction by Webkul

Third-Party App: POSTA by TORAB

Third-Party App: Uploadly - File Upload by Inspon

Redeeming Your Smile: Points & Rewards Promo Code

Third Party App: Smile Points & Rewards by Smile

Third-Party App: skuIQ Real-Time Inventory Sync by skuIQ

Third-Party App: Shippo by Shippo

Third-Party App: QuickBooks Connector By Intuit

Third-Party App: Printify by Printify

Third-Party App: Online Store by Ecwid Inc.

Third-Party App: NetSuite Sync by Webgility

Third-Party App: Modalyst - Dropshipping by Modalyst

Offering Gift Cards with the Gifted App

Third-Party App: Barcode Man Label Printing by Gookit

Third-Party Apps: E-commerce Apps

Claiming My Free Apps

Refunds for Third-Party App Upgrades

Canceling an App Subscription

Using an Existing App Subscription for an App on Your Site

Upgrading an App from the Wix App Market

Managing Your Wix Apps from the 'My Business' Panel

Creating a Third-Party App for the Wix App Market

Troubleshooting: Unable to Open App Settings Panel

App Disappearing from Page with Hidden Footer

Reasons an App Review Was Removed

Adding a Pending App in Your Editor

wix experts
Graphic2Traffic web design
©
bottom of page