Wix Media: Deleting Media Files from Your Media Storage
Delete files permanently from your Media Manager or move them to trash. Files you move to trash can be restored to your Media Storage and remain on your site. Once you delete files from trash, they are permanently deleted from your site and the Wix servers.
Important:
The Manage Storage setting is not yet available in all Wix accounts. Use the Media Manager tab for directions below if you do not have the Manage Storage setting.
Moving media files to trash
Want to remove a file from your Media Storage, but you're not sure if you'll need it later? Move it to trash where you can restore it at a later time, if necessary.
Dashboard
Go to Settings in your site's dashboard.
Click Manage Storage.
Click the More Actions icon

on the relevant file(s).
Click Move to Trash.

Tip:
Select multiple media files to perform these actions in bulk.
Media Manager
Hover over the relevant file and click the More Actions icon

.
Click Move to Trash.

Delete multiple files in bulk:
Press Ctrl on your keyboard ( Cmd on Mac) and click to select the files you want to delete. Then click the Actions icon

on the right and select Move to Trash.
Restoring a media file from trash
Files you move to trash in the Media Manager are not permanently deleted and can be restored.
Dashboard
Go to Settings in your site's dashboard.
Click Manage Storage.
Click the Trash tab.
Select the file you want to restore by clicking the checkbox on the left.
Click Restore.

Media Manager
Click Trash on the left side of the Media Manager.
Hover over the file you want to restore and click the More Actions icon

.
Click Restore.

Permanently deleting a media file
Permanently remove your media from your site and Wix servers.
Dashboard
Go to Settings in your site's dashboard.
Click Manage Storage.
Click the Trash tab.
Select the file you want to delete by clicking the checkbox on the left.
Click Permanently Delete.
Click the checkbox next to Yes, I want to delete files.
Click Delete Files.
Note: If any of the files you want to delete are being used on your site, you will see a popup menu allowing you to either keep or delete the files.
Media Manager
Click Trash.
Click the file you want to delete.
Tip: Hold Ctrl (Cmd on Mac) on your keyboard and click to select multiple files.
Click Permanently Delete on the right.
Select the checkbox next to Yes, I want to delete files.
Click Delete Files.
Note: If any of the files you want to delete are being used on your site, you will see a popup menu allowing you to either keep or delete the files.
Tip:
Delete all files in Trash by clicking Empty Trash on the right.
Can I restore files that have been permanently deleted?
You cannot restore files that have been permanently deleted on your own, however you can contact Customer Care to inquire if it is possible to restore the files.
FAQs
We are here to help with all your questions. Click a question below to learn more.
What happens if a file that I permanently deleted is being used on my site?
If a file that was placed on your site was permanently deleted, it will no longer be available on your live site or in your Media Storage. Instead, a placeholder thumbnail icon is displayed on your site where the image was placed.
How can I see which files are currently used on my site?
When you delete a file that is being used on your site, you will see a popup menu allowing you to either keep or delete the files.
How long does it take for files to be permanently deleted?
After you have deleted files from trash, it may take a few days for them to be permanently removed from the Wix servers and your site.
What should I do if my storage shows as full even after deleting files?
First, make sure that you've permanently deleted files from your Trash. Even if you moved files to your Trash, they still count toward your storage limit until you permanently delete them.
If this doesn't help, it may be due to a technical issue or a browser-related problem. Clear your cache, try a different browser, or use incognito mode to see if the error resolves.
If your storage space hasn’t updated after permanently deleting files or you’re still unable to upload new files, contact us and we will be happy to help.
If I delete a file from my Media Manager, does it remain on my site?
Deleting media from the Media Manager while it is in use on your live site will result in the images/media being removed from the live site.
If I delete a file from my Media Manager, does it remain in my boards?
Deleting a file from your Media Manager will also delete it from any boards you have created.
Need A Professional Website?
Contact Us Today!
I'm a paragraph. I'm connected
I'm a paragraph. I'm connected
I'm a paragraph. I'm connected
I'm a paragraph. I'm connected
I'm a paragraph. I'm connected
I'm a paragraph. I'm connected