top of page

Billing & premium subscriptions

Upgrading to a Premium plan

Transferring a Premium Site to Another Wix Account


You can transfer ownership of a premium site to another Wix account. When transferring, you can also transfer the site's domain and any associated Google Workspace business email.




Transferring a premium site to another Wix account


To transfer a premium site, you need the email address of the person you want to transfer the site to. After you start the transfer process, they'll receive a confirmation email which they need to accept to complete the process.



Before you begin:


  • Once you transfer the site, the site ownership is transferred to the new owner. Your payment information is not transferred, and the new site owner will manage all future subscription payments. If you want to continue to manage subscription payments you can add someone as a collaborator instead of transferring ownership. Learn more about roles and permissions.

  • Some premium subscriptions cannot be transferred. If your subscription can't be transferred, you can unassign the subscription first and then follow the steps to transfer the site.

  • Closing your Wix account? Transferring your premium site removes its subscription from your account. Once auto-renew is off on your remaining subscriptions, you can close your account.


To transfer a premium site:


  1. Go to your site's dashboard.

  2. Click the Site Actions icon

    Site Actions icon

    at the top of the Home page.

  3. Select Transfer site.


A screenshot showing the site actions menu where you can select the transfer site option.

  1. Fill out the Transfer Ownership form:

    1. Enter the email address associated with the new owner's Wix account.

    2. Choose a description of your relationship with your transferee.

    3. Enable or disable the following transfer options:

      • Transfer site plan: Transfer the premium plan assigned to the site, along with the site, to the new owner's account.

      • Transfer domain & business email: Move the domain and its associated mailboxes, along with the site, to the new owner's account.

        Note: "and business email" appears only if you purchased a Google Workspace business email from Wix.

      • Transfer premium apps: (If applicable) The site's premium apps automatically transfer, along with the site, to the new owner's account.

    4. Select or deselect the Keep my role as Co-Owner of this site after the transfer checkbox:

      • Selected: You remain a collaborator on the site with limited access. The new site owner can revoke your access at any time.

      • Deselected: You are no longer able to edit or manage the site in any way.

    5. Select or deselect the Create a copy of this site and keep it in my account checkbox:

      • Selected: A copy of the site remains in your account after the transfer takes place.

      • Deselected: A copy of the site is not saved in your account. However, if you keep your role as Co-Owner (see step 4c) you can still edit the site.


A screenshot showing the options to transfer a yearly plan and domain when transferring a site to a new owner.

  1. Click Continue.

  2. Review the transfer summary.

  3. Select the confirmation checkbox.

  4. Click Transfer Ownership.


What's next?




FAQs


Click a question below to learn more about transferring a premium site to another Wix account.


If you transfer the paid subscriptions (site plan, domain, business email, premium apps) along with the site, the new owner manages all future payments.


All premium apps connected to the site transfer automatically with the site. This includes Business Phone Number plans.


Some premium subscriptions cannot be transferred. If your subscription can't be transferred, go to the Premium Subscriptions section of your account and unassign it from your site. You can then transfer the site to a new owner.


No. It is not possible to transfer Wix Payments accounts between Wix accounts.


It is not possible to transfer a site that has Facebook ads associated with it. To cancel this service, turn off auto-renewal and wait for the service to expire. Once it's expired, you'll be able to transfer the site.


It is not possible to transfer Google Ads campaigns or to unassign them from your site.


You can only transfer site ownership to one user at a time. If you initiate a second transfer before the first has ended, the first one will be canceled.


Once you transfer a premium site to another Wix account, you forfeit the 14 day trial period. It is not possible to receive a refund for a transferred premium site.


A Co-Owner has permission to manage, edit, and publish sites. They can manage billing, invite people to collaborate and manage groups. A Co-Owner also has the same permissions as a Payments Admin. Learn more about roles and permissions.


Email campaigns transfer to the new account and also remain in the old account.

Note: Statistics are not transferred when transferring the site. If you have already transferred, the statistics will not be available anymore when you transfer back to the original account.


If you are using Wix Stores, all products, categories, and settings are transferred to the new account.

Note: If you use Avalara to calculate tax, your Avalara account will remain connected to your site. The new site owner will be able to sign in to the Avalara account using the same username and password as before.


After you transfer a site, editing existing blog posts will not be possible. You can, however, edit new posts. You will also still be able to turn commenting on and off for existing posts, feature existing posts, and delete posts created before the transfer.

Note: Though blog posts will appear on your live site, they will not appear in the Post Manager.


All site contacts are transferred to the new account and are removed from the old account.

Please note that Wix Payments accounts cannot be transferred. If you have recurring payments from your contacts - such as pricing plans or product subscriptions - processed through Wix Payments, the subscription payments will continue under the original Wix Payments account.

To transfer the payments to a new Wix Payments account, your contact needs to cancel their existing subscription and re-subscribe once you've set up a new Wix Payments account.

If you process your payments through a third-party payment provider, you'll need to check with your provider about the status of your recurring payments.


If you have members-only pages, your site members transfer to the new account and are removed from the old account.


Your site media is associated with the Wix site. If you transfer a site to another account, your uploads appear on the live site and in the Media Manager of the new account.


All elements are transferred except for secrets stored in your Secrets Manager.


No. It is not possible to transfer a purchased logo to another account. If this is something you would like to see offered in future, you can vote for this feature.


Yes. Once Wix approves your request, ownership of the account transfers to you, along with its premium subscriptions, so you can transfer its premium sites with the steps above. The person receiving the site then needs to accept the transfer.

Tip:

Find out what a legacy contact needs to request an account.


Need A Professional Website?
Contact Us 
Today!

I'm a paragraph. I'm connected 

I'm a paragraph. I'm connected 

I'm a paragraph. I'm connected 

I'm a paragraph. I'm connected 

I'm a paragraph. I'm connected 

I'm a paragraph. I'm connected 

wix experts
Graphic2Traffic web design
©
bottom of page