top of page

Studio, Partners & Enterprise

Wix Studio

Studio Editor: Understanding How Clients Edit Their Site


Once a client accepts your invite, they can access their site in the Studio Editor in 2 different modes:


  • Content mode: Access to a version of the Studio Editor that only allows content updates (e.g. text, media).

  • Full mode: Access to the entire editor that you've been using to build the site.


These editing modes have been designed to help your clients feel more involved. The sooner they use the editor, the more prepared they will be for when they need to make their own updates.


Your client can open an editing mode from the Home page of their site's dashboard. To get to this page, all they need to do is hover over their site in the workspace, then click Select Site.

A screenshot of button clients click to access their site's dashboard

Advise your client to click the Arrow

Studio Editor: Understanding How Clients Edit Their Site

next to Edit Site to see the 2 options.

A screenshot of the Home page of a site dashboard, where clients can access Full Mode


Clients using the content mode


Content mode is the best way for clients to update their site, without accidentally affecting your design. It allows them to see their site pages and navigate freely – the panel on the right lets them input their own information and media.


This easy-to-use mode empowers clients to be more active in the site creation process and get to know the editor. As their business evolves, your client may need to use this mode regularly to keep their content fresh.


An example of a page with the Edit Content mode, showing what clients can edit


Clients using the full mode


Full mode lets clients open the Studio Editor, the same way you see it. They can add, select and customize elements, just like your team. Having said that, the actions they're allowed to perform in the editor still depend on the role you assign.


A screenshot showing the tooltip that appears when a client hovers over an action that is not authorized


Clients switching between modes


No matter which mode clients open, they can access the other directly from their editor. The second mode is opened in a new tab, giving them the freedom to move between views and focus on relevant content.


To switch editing modes:


  • From Full Mode:

    1. Click the Wix Studio icon

      Studio Editor: Understanding How Clients Edit Their Site

      at the top left.

    2. Click Site.

    3. Click Open in Content Mode.

  • From Content Mode:

    1. Click Content Mode at the top left.

    2. Click Open in Full Mode.


A cropped screenshot of the studio editor in content mode. The content mode button is clicked, displaying 'Open in Full Mode'


Communicating with clients inside the editor


In some cases, your clients may prefer to give you feedback instead of updating content on their own.


Whether your client is in content mode or full mode, they can communicate with you directly inside the editor. Using the Comments panel


Studio Editor: Understanding How Clients Edit Their Site

, they can ask questions, share feedback and give instructions.


Every comment is either related to a specific element or an entire page. To accelerate the communication even more, clients can tag the person who needs to address their input.


A screenshot of the comments panel with comments from a client

Getting ready to hand over to your client?


Create a personalized client kit that gives clients everything they need for a successful transition. Include essential training materials, tutorial videos, relevant attachments, and your contact details to empower your clients and strengthen your professional relationship.


Need An AI Run Website?
Contact Us
 Today!

wix experts
Graphic2Traffic web design
©
bottom of page