top of page

Studio, Partners & Enterprise

Wix Studio

Studio Editor: Saving, Previewing and Publishing Your Site


In the Studio Editor, sites are automatically saved so you never have to worry about losing your changes. However, you can always manually save the site you're working on.


Finished working on a design? Use the preview mode to see how it looks on each breakpoint. You can then decide whether to publish or continue editing.



Saving a site


Studio Editor sites are saved automatically, after every change you make. However, you can save a site manually, whenever you wish.


To manually save a site:


  1. Go to your editor.

  2. Click the Wix Studio icon

    Studio Editor: Saving, Previewing and Publishing Your Site

    at the top left.

  3. Hover over Site.

  4. Click Save.


Saving a site in the Studio Editor

What's next?


Once you save a site, an indication appears at the top left of the Editor. It also appears every time the site is auto-saved.


Studio Editor: Saving, Previewing and Publishing Your Site


Accessing your site's saved versions


Your site history is a record of every time that you (or someone working on the site) has saved or published. Access the site history to check when a change was made, who performed the change or to restore a previous version.


To access previous site versions:


  1. Go to your editor.

  2. Click the Wix Studio icon

    Studio Editor: Saving, Previewing and Publishing Your Site

    at the top left.

  3. Hover over Site.

  4. Click Site History.


A screenshot of the site history option in the menu at the top left of the Studio Editor


Previewing a site


As you're working on a site in the Studio Editor, you can see how it will look live across all breakpoints. The preview shows the site on your current screen size, but you can change it to test the responsiveness of your design.


To preview a site on desktop:


  1. Go to your editor.

  2. Click the Preview icon

    Studio Editor: Saving, Previewing and Publishing Your Site

    at the top right.

  3. View the site on different screen sizes by doing one of the following:

    • Click the screen size drop-down at the top to select a different device.

    • Define the width and height of the screen in pixels.

    • Drag the handles to increase or decrease the width.

    • Click Preview on mobile device

      Studio Editor: Saving, Previewing and Publishing Your Site

      to directly access a test site on your mobile.

  4. Click Edit Site to continue editing, or Publish to make your changes live.


GIF showing the drag handles being used to preview the site on different screen sizes.

Good to know:


If you want to preview a different site page, select the page from the drop-down at the top left.



Previewing test sites


Created a test site? You can check how it looks on both desktop and mobile devices from your editor. Test sites are a great way to ensure the site looks great on all screen sizes, and get feedback from collaborators and clients.


To preview a test site:


  1. Go to your editor.

  2. Click Preview

    Studio Editor: Saving, Previewing and Publishing Your Site

    at the top right to open the drop-down.

  3. Choose where you want to preview the site from:

    • Desktop: Click Preview as Test Site.

    • Mobile:

      1. Click Preview on a mobile device.

      2. Scan the QR code on your mobile device.


A cropped view of the studio editor. The cursor is clicking 'Preview on mobile device'.

Note:


  • If you haven't created a test site before, you can do so by following the steps above and selecting to create a test site in the pop-up.

  • In order to create a test site, the site needs to have been published at least once.



Publishing a site


Click Publish at the top right of the editor to make your changes live.


A screenshot showing the location of the Publish button at the top right of the Editor

If you're publishing a site for the first time, it gets a URL that makes it officially live on the web. The web address depends on whether it's a free site or a site that was upgraded:


  • Free site: https://accountname.wixstudio.io/site-name

  • Premium: The site can get its own domain (e.g. mystunningwebsite.com), whether it's purchased from Wix or connected from another host.


You can also schedule your client's site to publish automatically with Wix Automations. Choose the exact date and time, and skip the stress of doing it manually. It's perfect for big launches or updates.


Publishing a site with code?


We automatically analyze your code and validate the syntax. If errors were found, you'll be able to either continue with the publish or return to the editor and look into the matter.



FAQs


Click a question below to learn more.


If your client's site does not look as expected on preview, check the following:

  • Screen size and breakpoints: Preview mode lets you see how your client's site appears on different screen sizes. Make sure you're viewing the site using the correct breakpoint. Each breakpoint covers a range of screen sizes (e.g. the default tablet breakpoint is 751 - 1000 px). Use the side handles in preview mode to adjust and check how your client's site looks within the breakpoint's range.

  • Browser cache: Clear your browser cache to ensure you are seeing the most recent version of your client's site.


Yes, you can share the latest version of sites with clients for their direct review and feedback. Each site has a unique link you can share with clients so they can view their site and add comments wherever relevant.

  1. Click the Wix Studio icon

    Studio Editor: Saving, Previewing and Publishing Your Site

    at the top left.

  2. Hover over Site and select Get Client Feedback.

  3. Choose how to share the site:

    • Send your client an email.

    • Click Copy Link next to the shareable link to send it on your own. The shareable link URL is valid for 2 weeks.


Need An AI Run Website?
Contact Us
 Today!

wix experts
Graphic2Traffic web design
©
bottom of page