Studio Editor: Inviting Collaborators to Edit a Site
Invite teammates or other external collaborators to work with you on a site directly from the Studio Editor. Assign a role based on each person's area of expertise, or create roles with the permissions of your choice. The roles you give determine the permissions inside the editor.
Tell me more about collaborators in Wix Studio
There are 2 types of collaborators you can have on a site:
Teammates: These are added to the Team tab in the workspace by the team owner. They are the teammates that you work with on your projects and they have access to your team workspace. Learn how to manage your team.
External site collaborators: These are other professionals you work with that are not part of your team, such as freelance designers, or clients that you invite to their own site once it's ready. You give them access to one specific site, and they cannot access your workspace.
For both teammates and external collaborators, you can decide what roles and permissions they have on sites and in the workspace. You can also choose the mode they can access in the Studio Editor.
In addition, you can set page editing permissions to control which pages your teammates and collaborators can update. The editor is automatically adjusted to each person's role so unauthorized actions are either hidden or disabled.
Tip:
The Studio Editor allows concurrent editing, so everyone on your team can edit the same site simultaneously. Your changes are synced in real time.
Inviting people to a site
Invite people to collaborate on the Studio Editor site you're currently working on. Using separate login credentials, site collaborators get access to the relevant features for their role (whether they're in the editor or the dashboard).
To invite people to your site team:
Click the Wix Studio icon

at the top left.
Hover over Site.
Hover over Team Work.
Click Invite People to Collaborate.
Enter the email address of the person you want to invite.
Select the checkbox next to the role(s) you want to assign to this person.
Tip: You can create custom roles for people, where you handpick the permissions.
Click Send Invite.

What's next?
The person you invited gets an email, from which they can accept and join the site.
Resending an invite
You can always send someone another invite if they didn't receive the first email. Whether their current invite is valid or expired, send them another one directly from Wix Studio.
To resend an invite:
Click the Wix Studio icon

at the top left.
Hover over Site.
Hover over Team Work.
Click Roles and Permissions.
Note: This opens the relevant page on a new browser tab.
(In the new tab) Click the More Actions icon

next to the relevant person.
Click Resend Invite.

Creating and managing roles
You can manage your site's roles at any time. Create and edit custom roles, delete roles that you no longer need or duplicate predefined roles to adjust their permissions.
What permissions are specific to the Studio Editor?
When creating a new role, you can add the following permissions that are specifically related to site editing:
View Site: Can view all pages and preview the site before publishing.
Add Comments: Can add comments on elements and pages and tag other people.
Edit Site Structure: Can add new pages, global sections, elements and dynamic content.
Edit Layout & Design: Can use layout tools, edit breakpoints and design assets.
Edit Content: Can edit text, links and media sources (e.g., images, videos, etc).
Edit Code: Can write code and manage collections.
Manage Page SEO: Can edit SEO and social share settings per page, and add alt text to media.
Edit Site Advanced: Can delete global sections and restore an older site version.
To create and manage roles:
Go to Sites in your Wix Studio workspace.
Hover over the Collaborators icon on the relevant site.
Click Manage Roles & Permissions.
Choose what to do next:
Create a new role
Click Manage Roles.
Click + Create New Role at the top right.
Fill in the details of your custom role:
Enter a title under Role Title.
(Optional) Add a description that outlines the new role.
Select the checkboxes next to the relevant actions for this role.
Note: While most Studio Editor permissions are available under Studio Editor, the ability to publish a site can be found under Editor.
When ready, click Save at the top right.
Notes:
You can select specific permissions within the categories, or tick Select All.
Certain actions that you select automatically enable other permissions. For example, if you let someone manage your orders, they can view your contacts by default.
Use the Filter search bar to find actions to assign to your custom role.
Edit an existing role
Click Manage Roles.
Hover over the relevant role and click Edit.
Edit the role as you wish:
Rename the role or change its description.
Add permissions by selecting more checkboxes.
Remove permissions by de-selecting their checkbox.
When ready, click Save.
Tip:
When hovering over their avatar at the top left, teammates can see their own role(s) in the system:

Managing permissions per page
In addition to site and team roles, site owners can apply another type of permission that controls pages and global sections.
Site and team roles control the actions people can perform, while permissions per page control the pages and global sections they're allowed to work on.
To manage permissions per page:
Click the Wix Studio icon

at the top left.
Hover over Site.
Hover over Team Work.
Click Permissions Per Page.
Click the drop-down next to a person's name to edit their permissions.
Select the checkbox(es) next to the relevant access level:
All pages: Can edit all site pages.
All pages and global sections: Can edit all site pages as well as any global sections.
Note: To select this option, you must first select the All pages checkbox.
Specific pages: Select the checkbox next to the pages this person should be able to edit.

Performing an unauthorized action in the Studio Editor
Every user has a specific role in the system with permissions that the site owner can change at any time.
Areas that aren't included in your permissions appear in gray and are not clickable.
To access a feature that is disabled, contact the site owner and ask them to add the relevant permission(s) to your role.
FAQs
Click a question below to learn more about inviting collaborators to edit a site.
How many collaborators can I invite to edit my Studio site?
To empower agencies to invite team members and freelancers to collaborate on building sites for clients, Wix Studio sites have 5 free collaborator seats (as long as the site owner is on a Studio account).
Once the site is upgraded, the collaborator limit is updated according to the selected premium tier collaborators limit. If the site is transferred to a non-Studio account (e.g. to a client), it reverts to 1 free collaborator seat until the site is upgraded.
What happens to my collaborators if I transfer my Studio site to a non-Studio account?
The number of free collaborator seats reverts to 1 if your site is transferred to a non-Studio account.
What happens if I already have more collaborators than my plan allows?
If you already have more collaborators than your plan allows, they can remain as collaborators. However, you will not be able to invite new collaborators until you upgrade your site.
Can I keep track of how many collaborator seats I have filled?
You can keep track of how many collaborator seats you have filled with the progress bar on the Roles & Permissions page of your dashboard's settings.

Can I change a collaborator's role after inviting them?
Yes, you can change a collaborator's role at any time. This is useful if their responsibilities change over time.
Learn more about changing a collaborator's role.
Can collaborators work on the site at the same time?
Yes, Studio Editor allows concurrent editing, so everyone on your team can edit the same site simultaneously. Your changes are synced in real time.